21:30 Nowy Teatr
Royal String Quartet

James MacMillan - Memento
Gregorio Allegri - Miserere mei, Deus (arr. Michał Pepol)
Paweł Szymański - Five Pieces for String Quartet mov. 3
Arvo Pärt - Fratres
Alvin Lucier - Navigations for Strings
James MacMillan -String Quartet No. 3 (mov. 3)

Mantra. Silent meditation. Repeated motifs of Arvo Pärt’s Fratres (1985), apparently treated purely constructivistically, build the bridge between contemporary music and the spiritual tradition of past centuries. Miserere by Allegri (3rd decade of the 17th century) – one of the most closely guarded treasures of the Sistine Chapel, originally being a choir arrangement of Psalm 51 – refers in the programme to the firmly rooted Roman-Catholic tradition of MacMillan’s music. His Memento (1994) touches on the Gaelic tradition of psalm-singing in the Hebrides (the Royal String Quartet’s complete string quartets of the Scottish composer are to be released in August). Navigations by Lucifer (1991) show the less known face of the American minimalism – meditation of the sound. The whole is complemented by Szymański’s miniature (1992) from the cycle dedicated to Jerzy Stajuda, in whose delicate strands gleam the 18th century string figures, echoing the origins of the string genre.